Home » Group post » Me Before You. A Romaniac Review.

Me Before You. A Romaniac Review.

Me Before You – Jojo Moyes.

I had read such good reviews of Me Before You, I was intrigued as to how this book achieved a universal ‘must read’ status. I followed a link on Facebook to a video interview with Jojo Moyes, hosted by Richard and Judy, which I watched with intent. I found the author an engaging and thoughtful guest, which served to pique my interest further.

The love story revolves around Will Traynor, a quadriplegic, and his reluctant carer, Louisa Clark, a woman of twenty-six, who has been launched on her unexpected caring path, having lost her job at a local tearoom. It is the success of the rival tearoom at the tourist hotspot, the town’s castle, which has brought her to this point. Ironically, the castle is owned by the wealthy Traynors.

Will, a once active and virile man, is frustrated with the life he now leads, the majority of his body paralysed following an accident. When Louisa realises what he has planned for the future, she enters into an unlikely and difficult arrangement with Will’s mother, in the hope Will can be persuaded to change his mind, but Louisa has a little less than six months in which to do so. The situation is further complicated by her growing affection for her boss.

Will Louisa succeed? Will the path of true love take them to freedom or lead them down a dead end?

The first thing that struck me was the choice of name for the hero – Will – an apt name. He is wilful.

The second thing was how quickly I became absorbed in the story. It is well structured and flows with the grace of the Danube.

Finally, I noted the hero is not typical of a contemporary romance; for the most part, he is in a wheelchair and has no desire to engage with people.

But this is the story of life and the wonders and challenges it holds and Jojo Moyes handles the complex subjects with great sensitivity, humour and understanding.

I thank her for having the courage to write it and I applaud her skill in delivering it.

This is the first of Jojo Moyes I have read, but it will not be the last.

Me Before You will remain a very special book.

Laura x

Gorgeous book – I loved it and found it heartbreaking and uplifting at the same time. I thought the characters were beautifully portrayed. I fell in love with Will Traynor on Louisa’s birthday – for the present he gives her and his line to Patrick, Louisa’s boyfriend, as he leaves. That was the moment I stopped seeing the wheelchair and began seeing a romantic hero.  It was probably around the same time I realised this book isn’t really about Louisa saving Will, it’s about Will saving Louisa.

Vanessa x

Naturally, we do not wish to give away the ending, but we would love to know your thoughts on Me Before You?

4 thoughts on “Me Before You. A Romaniac Review.

  1. I’ve not read it, but by God have you sold it to me! As soon as I’m off this comment I’m hitting Kindlestore for a sample chapter. I’ve heard great things about this writer and I’ve read a few articles she’s penned for the broadsheets & she’s great friends with Lisa Jewell. I bought one of her books but couldn’t settle into it, it wasn’t the right time, but I love the originality of the premise you’ve just outlined so I’ll be checking it out for sure!

  2. Same here, I’ve not read it but after what The Romaniacs have been saying about it, I really should put it on my list.

    Thanks Laura and Vanessa.
    xx

  3. I’m so looking forward to reading this novel. I’ve heard only positive comments about it and remember Jojo referring to it when she gave a fab talk as guest speaker at an RNA meeting in London last September. I’ve read Jojo’s previous book – ‘The Last Letter from your Lover’ and thoroughly enjoyed that one, so can’t wait to sink my teeth into ‘Me Before You’ :)

    Great post, Laura & Vanessa.
    xx

  4. I just came back to say that I read it. And absolutely loved it. I borrowed it from the library, but I tell you now, as soon as Gunshot Glitter is published I am treating myself to my very own brand spanking new, shiny copy. This book has cemented itself in my heart. In fact I will nominate it for World Book Night. Everyone should read it.

Leave a Reply

