Home » Sue's Posts » A Year On From Signing My Publishing Deal

A Year On From Signing My Publishing Deal

Next month will mark a full year since I signed a three book publishing deal with Harper Collins’ romance imprint Harper Impulse.

blog picture pen

It’s been an exciting year which has seen two of the titles published, both in digital and paperback format, book number three submitted and, as a group, The Romaniacs have also published a short story anthology. To say it has whizzed by would be an understatement, but I’ve taken a moment to pause and reflect on how the past year has been.

Fast. Busy. Stressful. Exciting. Frustrating. Enjoyable.  And every emotion remotely related to those. That’s how it’s been.

And it’s not just the range of emotions I’ve experienced, I’ve also learned a lot about myself as a writer and the writing process itself. Amongst many things, I’ve learned …

That I will love my edits, despite what I may tweet at the time of being in the  ‘Editing Cave’.

That Book 2 helps to sell Book 1.

That I will happy dance at good reviews.

That I will grow thick skin for the not so nice reviews.

That I will compulsively check Amazon rankings, despite pretending I’m only going to look for a book to read and that I’m not really going to look at mine and compare it with every other book in that genre.

Blog post refresh

Would love to know how the past year has been for everyone else.

Have you had your book published? Have you signed with an agent?  Have you self-published? Have you joined the RNA New Writers’ Scheme? Did you renew your NWS membership? Have you written another draft? Written an entirely new book? Decided to write in a completely different style or genre? Or anything else remotely related to writing …

Sue

x

 

 

10 thoughts on “A Year On From Signing My Publishing Deal

  1. I feel like I’ve been on a similar trajectory to The Romaniacs over the last eighteen months. (Is that all its been? Really?) I plunged into self-publishing because I could see the way things were contracting in traditional publishing and, besides, I always like being in control. No comments, please at the back. I don’t regret a moment of the hard slog as I am now 47k into book three and still plugging Tall, Dark and Kilted and Boot Camp Bride for all I’m worth. I’ve watched the Romaniacs go from strength to strength and have been thrilled at your successes and am looking forward to others to come. Like Sue, I know that a new book sells your other books and that also spurs me on. My target is to write six rom coms and then take stock. I have rejoined the New Writers’ Scheme and am watching to see what changes over the next few months before deciding whether to renew my membership, or not. See some Romaniacs at the Conference but best wishes to you ALL and happy writing..

    • You’ve done so well, Lizzie. Really been impressed by the whole way you’ve approached your writing and publishing. Great to see your hard work paying off.

      Sue
      x

  2. Congratulations, Sue, and what a ride it’s been! It’s been lovely watching (and READING, of course) your releases. Has it really only been a year? Keep on writing, and here’s to many more years to come!!

    As for me… well you know. Books, books and did I mention books? LOL! Rock on! XX

  3. I’m so impressed at your work ethic Sue and also yours too Lizzie and Nicky! I would say that for me, the last year has been quite tough. What happened on my birthday and Gunshot Glitter launch, the horrible allergy reaction, almost dying, knocked the stuffing out of me and had a bit of a ripple effect. I realised I had to really get a handle on a lot of things if i was going to do my best as a writer and accept that would take focus and patience. So my health became priority as there were a lot of things I wasn’t addressing. But it’s been 100% worth it :) I’ve also squeezed in the writing of a first draft of a new novel, completed and now getting feedback in, it’s called See Those Eyes. Gunshot Glitter got short-listed as a self-published read in The Guardian last year, that was lovely. Huge for me. This year I plan to give it the launch it should have had last year, and, also have about 3-4 other projects that I’m somehow going to find time and energy to tackle. Probably through growing a twin of me from a strand of hair.. :) xx

    • What a year you’ve had – for good and bad reasons. Great to hear that See Those Eyes is well on the way.
      Thanks for dropping by.
      Sue
      x

  4. Congratulations on all your achievements, Sue! What an amazing year.
    I’m about to submit Book 3 to the NWS. Book 2 is helping me hunt for an agent. Tons of ideas in my wee head – I think I need a lie down. ;-)

    Best wishes to you and all the other Romaniacs! :-) xx

Leave a Reply

