Home » Catherine's Posts » Introducing… Catherine Miller

Introducing… Catherine Miller

I’ve always been quirky, I’ve always known my own mind and I’ve always dreamt of finding my romantic hero. When I was younger my day dreams involved me moving into a village where there was only one eligible man who happened to be incredibly handsome and wanted to marry me. Perhaps it was inevitable that I made the move into writing romantic fiction. Although it’s only been made possible by meeting my real life hero-at-home. Following on from Laura’s post I thought I’d share how I met my real life hero:

Undefined date, roughly 8th August 2005.

The day of the London bombing, I was at that point working in the NHS, and the Cardiothoracic Unit I worked on had been put on high alert as one of the nearest overflow units that could deal with the injuries they were expecting. Fortunately, they never needed to send anyone to Southampton, but when I went home that day it gave me a life is too short attitude.

I’d been single for sometime and had tried online dating for a while, but as nothing came of it, I’d given up. That evening I decided to sign up again for one month only.

One disastrous date followed, in which the bloke had nothing more interesting about him than the facts he’d already told me and we had a repeat discussion of the one we’d already had over the phone. I despaired, there was no hope for my love life.

With only a few days left of my membership, a bloke called Dan messaged me. I’d sent a message to a Dan and assumed it was a reply so when I opened the message from a handsome guy I hadn’t seen before it was a nice surprise. We were in contact pretty quickly and I decided after the last disaster I didn’t want to find out everything about him beforehand save finding I knew everything there was to know.

Before we organised our first date, Dan texted me saying he didn’t have much money (I can’t remember exact wording) and indicated he didn’t have enough for dinner out. I found it rather refreshing that he was that honest… so I came up with an alternative date. I really wanted to see the Cowes Week fireworks and hadn’t found anyone else wanting to go so I asked Dan. He said yes and because of his honesty, I bought the ferry tickets and stashed a four pack of Corona in my handbag.

I really hadn’t thought it out… I was meeting a complete stranger who I knew little about, getting on a ferry where there was no escape if it got awkward and we’d be in each other’s company for several hours! Argh! It could have gone so wrong, but I only really realised what a mistake it could have been when we were on the ferry back sitting in pet’s corner along with another couple and their dog.

Three year’s later on 08/08/08 we got married and as my brother said to me today, he couldn’t imagine either of us with anyone else – ‘It’s fate that you two are together,’ my brother said, and I couldn’t agree more. When I think back to that day of terrible news, it makes me think that good can come out of everything.

28 thoughts on “Introducing… Catherine Miller

    • Thank you for commenting, Jean. I always hear you refer to your hero-at-home so I thought I’d introduce mine.

      Catherine x

    • Hi Morton, thanks for stopping by. I’d practically given up on the idea, but it turns out it’s great when you meet the right guy.

      Catherine x

    • Thank you, Debs. It’s one of my favourite photos from that day. Can’t believe it will be four years ago this year!

      Catherine x

  1. Thank you, Lindsay. Sometimes you can’t beat a real life bit of romance. Wait until you read tomorrow’s post from the next romaniac – hankies at the ready!

    Catherine x

    • Aw, thanks, Jane. I bet it was Pet’s corner that did it! Well, there was nowhere else to sit! He’s a keeper πŸ™‚

      Catherine x

  2. A lovely story. I know the IOW ferry intimately. Next time Im in Pets Corner I’ll think of you both.

    • Ah, thank you! We haven’t frequented it since so please say hello from us!

      Catherine x

  3. It was a very happy day! Can’t believe it will be four years ago this year.

    Catherine x

  4. How romantic! There’s always that person out there meant for you – I’m glad that you found him!

    • So am I, Jean. Funny thing is, when I first moved to Southampton he lived round the corner, but never met at that point.

      Catherine x

  5. Awww, that brought a tear to my eye. What a lovely story and how good to hear that on-line dating works. I’ve been thinking about it lately and feel more inspired to give it a go. Maybe. lol. xx

    • I’d tried it and written it off as an option, but so glad I signed up for that extra month. I think it takes a bit of patience until you find the right guy. And he’ll be out there for you, I’m sure of it πŸ˜‰ Just expect a few odd balls along the way, part of the fun πŸ™‚

      Catherine x

    • Aw, thank you, Anne and how great that your holiday romance turned out to be the one. I’m feeling all gooey inside after all these lovely comments. Thanks for stopping by… there are more great Romaniac introductions still to come.

      Catherine x

Leave a Reply

