Home » Group post » Teenage Crushes – No Longer a Secret

Teenage Crushes – No Longer a Secret

We’ve talked about the men that make us go weak at the knees, we’ve oohed and arghed over them but where did it all start? More to the point with whom?  Only one Romaniac knows the answers – we’d love you to join in and try to guess who had a crush on who.  Can you relate to any of these or did you have your own? Do tell!

So you have Celia, Lucie, Vanessa, Jan, Laura, Catherine, Debbie, Liz & Sue to match up with the following:-

    CRUSH 1

This Romaniac has listed Sting, Bryan Robson and John Travolta amongst her many teenage crushes but the one she truly holds dear for his brawn, confidence and wicked sense of humour is Bruce Willis as David Addison in his Moonlighting days

SO ALL THE CRUSHES HAVE BEEN GUESSED – DAVID ADDISON WAS OUR LOVELY JAN’S CRUSH

CRUSH 2 
Any member of Take That was this particular Romaniac’s crush, but she was devastated when Robbie left

 WELL DONE TO EVERYONE WHO GUESSED THIS WAS LIZ’S CRUSH


CRUSH 3
 
Obviously a Grange Hill fan, Tucker Jenkins and Stupot were on the list of this Romaniac.

LAURA HAD THE GRANGE HILL THING GOING ON

CRUSH 4
 
Who was under the spell of Dave Leoffler because of his floppy hair?  That would be same person who had a major crush on Mark Owen because he was cute (and he had floppy hair too I seem to remember)

YEP, THIS WAS CATHERINE’S CRUSH

CRUSH 5
Who do you think would have posters on their bedroom wall of Elton John, Marc Bolan and Freddie Mercury (do you notice a theme there?)  It is, however, David Bowie who can still cause this Romaniac to flush when she sees him on TOTP2

AND THIS HAS BEEN CORRECTLY IDENTIFIED AS CELIA’S CRUSH

  CRUSH 6
From the one extreme to another – who would like to make Dragons’ Den, Peter Jones an offer he couldn’t refuse, while at the same time swooning over Taylor Hanson?

CORRECTLY GUESSED AS LUCIE’S CRUSH

CRUSH 7
This law abiding Romaniac had a thing for the likes of Officer Poncherello from the American TV series CHiPS, both Starsky & Hutch and either Lewis Collins or Martin Shaw from The Professionals

THIS WAS SUE’S CRUSH

   CRUSH 8
This Romaniac had a thing for Aidan Quinn from Desperately Seeking Susan, she even wore fingerless gloves for months after seeing the film.  However, she would loved to have been ‘Baby’ and she certainly would not have been left in the corner as she dirty danced with Johnny Castle.

NO BODY PUTS OUR VANESSA IN THE CORNER, NOT WHERE HER CRUSH IS INVOLVED ANYWAY

 
 CRUSH 9
 
She ADORED John Travolta, drank Babycham while watching David Soul in Starsky & Hutch but her true teenage crush because he was sexy, no wait, make that really sexy, was Adam Ant.

AND A GIRL AFTER MY OWN HEART, WITH A MEGA CRUSH ON ADAM ANT, WAS DEBBIE

We’ve told you ours, do let us know yours!

51 thoughts on “Teenage Crushes – No Longer a Secret

  1. This might be before everyone’s time, but I had a real ‘thing’ for the guy who played John in ‘The Tomorrow People’. Gave me a lifelong love of sci-fi and knitted jumpers…

    • Oh, Jane, I see what you mean about John. Those roll-necks would have had me all of a quiver as well 😉 Thanks so much for your comment

      Jan x

  2. Oh yes, Bruce in Moonlighting days. I loved that pout.

    Other crushes in those days were David Soul (Starsky and Hutch), Tom Selleck (Magnum PI) and
    Davy Jones (The Monkees) and Tony Hadley (Ah).

    carol

    • Tony Hadley – now that’s immediately got me crooning all those Spandau Ballet hits. Love all your choices, Carol. My sister had a real thing for Starsky, rather than Hutch (I think it was that cardigan!) Thanks so much for your comments.

      Jan x

  3. Oh guys, I couldn’t possibly match you up to these crushes, although I can relate to quite a few. My big teenage crush? Well, that would have to be the scrummylicious Joey Tempest, front man of Swedish rock band Europe (“Final Countdown” for those of you who remember that far back….). I even had the hairdo to match, and one day I might just share a picture…. heee hee, or not!

  4. Nicky, you have fabulous taste! None of us know the answers to the above crushes (oh, only one of us, correction) but now I’ve seen them all, I’ve added a few more… Whoever would have thought there were so many scrummy men out there? Thanks for your crush – would love to see the photo! Are you coming to the Summer Party?

    Celia x

  5. Can I say that is NOT Poncherello on CHips! http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0075488/ (I had a thing for Jon Baker – the other guy – I had a thing for blonds even at that early age :D).

    Also, my early crush was Face (Dirk Benedict) from the A-Team.

    But I do appreciate some of the above too. Bruce Willis, Tucker, Robbie Wiliams, David Bowie (Labyrinth).

    I’m not even going to attempt to guess.

    • We know it’s not the guy from CHiPS, but he’s the guy from The Professionals – Lewis Collins :0)

      Face – he was one of the more appealing A-Team members, have to agree there.

      Thanks for stopping by Teresa – have a good Easter!
      Sue x

  6. Got to know who Crush No. 5 was???!!! – so similar to me (except not Elton John, he was too short and pauncy for my taste, give me the thin, pale, interesting ones… although I also liked Duran Duran – John Taylor, especially).

  7. I’m guessing number 5 is Laura? For the rest, I haven’t got a clue! Apart from mine 😉

    Catherine x

  8. Haha – well I can’t do anything on my WIP until I’ve had a go at guessing some of the crushes, although I can’t do them all as it will give away mine:

    1 Laura
    2
    3 Celia
    4 Lucie
    5 Jan
    6 Liz
    7
    8 Sue
    9

    xx
    PS – Fantastic photo of Adam, by the way, Sue 😉 xx

  9. There was only ever one crush for me in my teens – Jon Bon Jovi. To say I was obsessed is an enormous understatement. I wrote to him most days and spent my evenings telling my best friend stories of our lives in a parallel universe with Jon as my boyfriend and Richie Sambora as hers. Jon was also her crush, but I was the one telling the stories so I got first pickings!

    • Oh Claire, that really made me laugh. I would have been a good friend for you, as I liked Richie (still do actually)
      Sue x

  10. Sorry Deb, but none of those guesses are right :0(
    And yes I LOVE that picture of Adam Ant, don’t you think the pink goes nice with our blog?
    Sue x

  11. Just reminded me of Benedict Taylor – he was in Beau Gest. Then there was Roger Taylor, the drummer for Duran Duran. Oo! Another drummer – Mark Price, from the band All About Eve, although technically, I wasn’t a teenager then.
    I think crush 1 is Sue and crush 5, Celia.
    Laura xx

  12. What about 2 for Debs, 4 for Lucie and 9 for Jan? I’ve got to go and watch Dirty Dancing for several hours now, back later

    Celia x

    PS MarinaSofia – geat taste!

  13. Sorry Celia – none right.
    I bought my daughter Dirty Dancing DVD because she had never seen it, she was impressed. Have now ordered Ghost for her.
    Sue x

  14. Afraid I don’t know any of you well enough to match your crushes but I was born a romantic. As one of my very young adopted nieces said ” You and your hairy men on horses!” – she meant Arthur of the Britons (Oliver Tobias) and of course Adam Ant and any of the rock gods with hair half way down their backs. I’d have been happier born in the days when pony-tails weren’t poncy and horses were the normal mode of transport ….. which may be why I use my steel horses now (1 Yamaha, 1 Honda & 1 Peugeot ex-militay)

  15. Right, I’m going for : 2 is Liz, 3 is Debs, 4 is Catherine, 8 is Vanessa, 9 is Laura… And breathe… x

  16. Debs has gotta be crush 9 and Laura crush 3?? 😉 Or have I completely lost track – lol x

  17. I have to agree Adam Ant I loved it when he did stand and deliver! I would have been happy to have been held up by him!
    Patrick Swayze in dirty dancing I wouldn’t have minded being his baby!
    And John Travolta in Grease. Could have quite happily have been his Sandy!
    Really enjoyed finding out about who you guys like!
    Certainly brought some good memories back to me.
    Lorraine x

    • Hi Lorraine
      Thanks for stopping by. I so wanted to marry Adam Ant, or at least be his girlfriend, I remember me and my friend doing the ‘Prince Charming’ dance at the school disco.
      It was a fun blog today and like you say, brought back some good memories.
      Happy Easter
      Sue x

Leave a Reply

