Home » Uncategorized » Ready… Steady….. Write!

Ready… Steady….. Write!

At Romaniac HQ, we have been chatting about writing challenges and how useful they can be.

Last year, I took part in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) which was based around writing 50,000 words in November. It was challenging to say the least trying to write 1,666 words a day and most days I didn’t, meaning I would have to catch up writing over 10,000 words at the weekends. But it was worth it.

Taking part in NaNoWriMo forced me to write at a fast pace, not allowing me any time to over analyze the words of my novel and because of this, it formed structure and took shape.  My WIP developed more in November 2011 than it had in the entire year.

So as the end of the year approaches, slowing us all down, we thought there would be nothing more perfect than our own Romaniac HQ writing challenge, to join in with the spirit of things.

During the month of November, we will aim to write 30,000 words, each. That’s 1,000 words a day, (Carol Vorderman has nothing on me!) and lots of coffee!

Now we’ve put it in print, you can hold us to it and check in to see how we’re doing!

Good luck with all of you taking the NaNoWriMo challenge. Let us know how it’s going.

Love Liz x

8 thoughts on “Ready… Steady….. Write!

  1. Your post is really very timely as I have just signed up, after much soul searching, to participate in NaNoWriMo. Yesterday Sally Quilford wrote a blog post on using NaNoWriMo as a time for writing a pocket novel, which call for 50,000 words – same total as NaNo aims for. But this morning I thought to myself that realistically 1,000 words a day was about all I was going to manage. Plus 1000 words leaves me enough room to write ‘into the mist’, letting the ideas and story unfold as they will, without writing so much that I lock myself into a corner in my novel. So reading your post here today confirms my own inclinations. Thank you! I shall look forward to checking in and seeing how everyone is getting on. By the way, can anyone join in with your challenge? xxx

    • Excellent news Edith! Yes everyone can join in, so please join us. I look forward to cheering you on! Liz x

  2. I’m in! Totally timely for me as am in the throes of book 3.

    HOWEVER. I have several days ‘away’ at enjoyable authorly events like the Festival of Romance and the RNA winter party in November, AND I may receive publisher edits for book 2 which will require immediate attention and turnaroudn. So I plead extenuating circumstances rightaway if I don’t hit the goal. Normally, I write about 12K a week so with a bit of luck I might scrape by. Are you willing to have me with these caveats??

    • Hi Nicky – Our Liz did so well last year to crack the 50,000 words – I remember her updates as the month drew to a close and have the utmost respect for her and all those who earned their certificates. As much as my spirit is willing, I feel my flesh is currently incapable of rising to the challenge this year. I’ll give our 30,000 words a go and see what happens 🙂
      Good luck with your challenge and your busy month.
      Laura xx

    • So glad you’re joining us, although going on past experience of your ultra efficient output when it comes to writing, I know this will be easy peasy for you – in which case, please feel free to nag me, daily if necessary! x

      • Bless you. I wish. I hope! My November is a bit of a disaster zone with too many things going on but I will do my very best. As for nagging you… be careful what you wish for, I can be the world’s worst nagger. JUST KIDDING. You’ll do great. Let’s aim for a weekly exchange of whatever we’ve accomplished, that ought to keep us going… X

  3. Pingback: Do you NaNoWriMo? (National Novel Writing Month) « Writing, Work and Wine

Leave a Reply

