Home » Catherine's Posts » The ‘Bring A Dish’ Party

The ‘Bring A Dish’ Party

Here at Romaniac HQ we have not one, not two but three March birthdays! Has there ever been a better excuse to throw a party?

3 girls

The Birthday Trio – Laura, Sue, & Catherine

Now parties don’t normally come with rules apart from when they do. To join the party you have to bring something with you, as the title suggests. As host of this party, I need you to bring FOOD, lovely imaginary FOOD! If you are anything like me your social media will be filled with people on the 5:2 diet, so if that’s you, imaginary food will be just what you need. As for me, I’m on the eating for three diet. This involves expanding your waistline massively whilst adhering to a list of forbidden foods. No alcohol, no goat’s cheese, no soft boiled eggs – the list goes on.

So here is the deal: please come along and celebrate our birthdays with a bottle or dish in hand. Perhaps share a recipe with forbidden ingredients so I can drool and dream of the day when I can once again eat such delights. Or if you’ve given up something for Lent, bring the dish you plan to eat at the end of the 40 days. Or if you are on a diet then bring something highly calorific. There is one other option. Of course ‘a dish’ could be interpreted as a handsome date so feel free to bring one of those with you.

Here is my contribution. I discovered its total awesomeness yesterday. It’s called a Cherpumple. What’s that you wonder? It’s three pies baked in three cakes to make one big cake! If you want to know how to make one and to see it in all its glory, head here: http://vittlemonster.com/2011/09/07/how-to-make-a-cherpumple-successfully/ Go looksie. Your life will be better for it… promise.

Catherine x

Now let’s see what the other Romaniacs are bringing to tempt you to the party…

Laura: Excuse me whilst I reinsert my eyes – they popped out at the sight of the pie cake. MAGNIFICENT!

I like salty nuts. Especially the jumbo ones. I’ll supply some rather expensive macadamia and cashews, to go with a bucket of buttered popcorn.

Mmm. Salted, buttered popcorn.

Mmm. Salted, buttered popcorn.

Ooo – I just thought of maple brazils, which are quite possibly the sweetest thing my tongue has ever experienced. Who wouldn’t enjoy the sensation of the golden fondant melting in the mouth, exposing the firm body of a naked brazil?

And I could be talked into supplying Baileys.

And a hot tub filled with Maltesers.

Which I might bathe in with Johnny Depp.

Jan: Red, White or Rose? Oh, what the hell! I’ll bring all three (in abundance) with, hmmm… let me think…ooh, I know… a CHOCOLATE platter. Oh, yes! Milk, Dark, White, Nutty, Fruity, Rum-laden, Honeycomb, Minty, Orangey… Shall I go on? And to help me stagger along under the weight of this delectable choccie delight? Well, if Mr Penry Jones is free and in the party spirit, he can come along for a nibble 🙂

This is a picture of a Romaniac fridge – get the idea?

wine

Celia: Well, obviously I’ll be bringing cake – the one in the picture isn’t for the girls, none of them are 90 yet…or so they say…anyway, there will be a splendid birthday cake oozing with fruit and all things sticky, with marzipan and icing on top and all their names in a row. I will also throw in some stilton and home made oatcakes, a couple of jars of anchovy stuffed olives and a magnum of champagne (plus some apple juice for Catherine). And Roger Daltrey. He’s for me, not for the birthday girls. Just saying.Cake

Sue : Well I would have to bring cup cakes. I know Celia has done a lovely birthday cake, but I’d bring the cup cakes for the party bags at the end. I’d also bring party hats, party poppers and balloons – if anyone could invent some edible ones that would be fantastic.

cake

Vanessa: Okay – so we’re covered for cakes and chocolate (not covered in cake and chocolate, that’s a whole different party…) and Jan’s bringing the wine… So I think I’ll contribute the CHAMPAGNE! At least a dozen bottles as we have so much to celebrate this year – birthdays and Romaniac twins and book deals and competition wins… And maybe something substantial to soak up the alcohol and balance out all the sugar – fish and chips for all!

Debbie: Oh, I do love a good party. Happy birthday to my friends in advance. It’s lovely to have something to celebrate!

I shall be doing what we Romaniacs do best – drinking wine and eating cake! And I’m afraid, with regards to bringing something to the party, it’s more cake from me. As well as being the Queen of wine; red, white, rose (I don’t care as long as it isn’t German or a Chardonnay,) I’m also domestic Goddess in the Lemon Drizzle Cake department. I have a recipe if you’d like it?

As for a date; I don’t need a man! Cake, wine and my Romaniac buddies…what more could a girl ask for?

9 thoughts on “The ‘Bring A Dish’ Party

    • Cheese scones? I do love a good cheese scone. This party is getting better by the minute! Catherine x

  1. I’m bringing pudding! It involves ice cream with a melted-mars-bar sauce. Oh yes, you read that right. Chop up a Mars bar, add a generous glug of double cream, and melt gently in the microwave. Simples! And no counting calories here… You could add strawberries for the health factor. No not to the sauce, to the desert as a whole! Happy birthday, ladies!!

    • That sounds delicious! And a nice bit of balance with the strawberries. Making me hungry just thinking about it!

  2. Happy Birthday ladies! That’s a lot of cake. There’s loads of cake in our house at the moment due to eldest’s birthday and then she decided to make cupcakes yesterday…which is handy as all I want to do is eat cake in this chilly weather. I’ll be bringing a bottle of Prosecco and a cheese board-with Brie, Gorgonzola and mature cheddar and maybe I’ll throw in a few crackers and a jar of onion chutney.

    • Thank you, Anita. You’ve pandered to some of my most wanted imaginary food needs. I’d love some Brie and Stilton, but in real life will have to stick to the mature cheddar. Catherine x

  3. Happy Birthday Sue, Laura and Catherine! I’ll bring a huge bowl of mash and fresh crusty bread and butter. And Amarula. Needs to be washed down with that. Have fabulous ones 🙂 X

  4. Happy Birthday Ladies! I’ll bring a home-made Chocolate Roulade filled with raspberries and cream with a bottle of sweet Moscato to wash it down;)

  5. Hi ladies – so sorry to be late for the party. Belated Happy Birthdays and if all the party food’s been eaten, stock up with some of my home made Welsh cakes, spread with fresh butter, spicy cinnamon hot cross buns left over from Good Friday, washed down with good Welsh mead.

Leave a Reply

