Home » Laura's Posts » Precious Moments

Precious Moments

Author Pic BrighterI was thinking about those wonderful, precious moments when everything falls into place, despite the confusion, trauma or sheer desperation of the preceding hours. Those times when you pick up the phone, or type a text and say, ‘I’m in your part of the world. Can I come and see you?’

We may live across the breadth and width of the country, but The Romaniacs rarely miss a chance to meet up when the opportunity arises. Granted, not once have all nine of us occupied the same, real, floor space, at the same time, but we often pop into Romaniac HQ, put our feet up and have a natter.IMG_1504

As Catherine, Sue and I are members of the same RNA chapter, I love the fact we get to see each other every few months, but with the other Romaniacs living further north, those actual, real-life moments are precious.

Recently my family and I drove to the Midlands for a friend’s wedding renewal ceremony, which was beautiful. Being geographically challenged, I had no idea how near or far we were from any of my fellow Romaniacs, until my husband announced we were about an hour away from Celia’s house. Considering we’d driven for three hours to attend the ceremony, another sixty minutes to see my writing friend was nothing. Or as my son would say, ‘It’s pips.’

IMG_1563In the end, our journey from our overnight stay to Ce’s house took two hours, due to an unscheduled visit to the local hospital. Our stay in A and E was longer than the time spent with Celia. And there were no scones.Celia 1

Anyway, when all was well, we left the hospital and pitched up at Celia’s house, in time for afternoon tea. Our visit was short-notice and it was only for an hour or so, but the sun was shining, the cakes were gorgeous and we didn’t stop talking. Apart from when we were eating.

Being revived with a hug and a fruit cake

Being revived with a hug and a fruit cake

Actually, that didn’t stop us.

The time quickly passed.

A fleeting meeting.

A top-up.

A precious moment.

We may not occupy the same floor space, but my Romaniac friends are often in my head, and they always in my heart.

Just saying.

                              Laura x

21 thoughts on “Precious Moments

  1. Oh Laura – what a lovely post! It was great to see you and your gang on that sunshiney day, and all the better for being unexpected. Good job sones don’t take long to cook, that’s what I say.

    Celia xxx

    • Jean, the scones were delicious, and the fruit cake was magnificent. Seeing Celia was the best treat, though. 🙂 Laura.

    • Thank you. I agree. Great friends can help ease us through tricky times.
      We were first into A and E, but by the time we left, we’d seen broken ankles, a cracked nose and a severed finger. Great fodder for a writer. Laura 🙂

    • Thank you, Donna. It still amazes me how The Romaniacs found each other and hit it off so instantly, and so well. Very lucky. Laura xx

  2. Love it! 🙂 I know I’m not a Romaniac, really, but I *am* around a lot (chained to my desk as I am) so if you’re ever in the Lincoln region… I have cake!

  3. A wonderful example of the love & support we Romaniacs share for one another. Fab post, Laura 🙂 xxx

  4. Sorry to hear about your trip to A&E Laura-hope all is OK. Last minute visits to see friends around the country are always so exciting-how lovely to meet up with Celia for cake. Hope you both enjoy the course in Umbria-you lucky ladies!

  5. Pingback: Precious Moments – Number 2 | The Romaniacs

  6. Pingback: Precious Moments – Numbers 3 and 4 | The Romaniacs

Leave a Reply

