Home » Laura's Posts » Roving Romaniacs: Arte Umbria, Italy

Roving Romaniacs: Arte Umbria, Italy

This has to be one of the best things I have done this year, alongside taking the family to Florida at Easter.

If you’re considering going abroad to take a creative course, be it painting or in my case, writing, where the sunshine is pretty much guaranteed and the wine flow is…well, pretty much guaranteed, then consider no more. Arte Umbria is the place to go.

I spent a glorious week in the company of other writers, including our Ce, on a course led by Choc Lit author, and respected tutor, Sue Moorcroft.

The setting was beautiful, the weather wonderful, the workshops fun and informative, and the hosts welcoming.

I think it’s fair to say the course participants each took something different away from the course. Sue’s workshops and guidance helped me find a way forward with my work-in-progress, Follow Me.

Private writing time provided the opportunity to finish a draft, edit, or take time to out to simply be inspired.

Why don’t I show you…

The Terrace

The Terrace

Spectacular views from our 'office'

Spectacular views from our ‘office’

The mist soon burned off

The mist soon burned off

Celia, Sadie & Sue. Orvieto

Celia, Sadie & Sue. Orvieto

Working

Working

Orvieto Cathedral or 'Duomo'

Orvieto Cathedral or ‘Duomo’

La Scarzuola. Worth a Google

La Scarzuola. Worth a Google

Industrious Celia. I was working - see my keyboard? I broke off to take the photo. Honest.

Industrious Celia. I was working – see my keyboard to the left? I broke off to take the photo. Honest.

We met a Marquesi and we sampled his wine, all in the name of research

We met a Marquesi and we sampled his wine, all in the name of research

Great company

Great company

Two Roving Romaniacs

Two Roving Romaniacs…

And Umberto.

And Umberto. We all loved Umberto.

What a fantastic experience.

Laura x

26 thoughts on “Roving Romaniacs: Arte Umbria, Italy

  1. If ever there was a perfect setting, this is it … and Umberto lends some doggy charm. Was he part of the package? πŸ™‚ Glorious photographs!

    • Hi Lesley. Thank you. I believe Umberto might be setting his own rates next year. He smiled all the way through the course. Laura πŸ™‚

    • Carol, it was wonderful. I could have stayed at least another week, and that comes from someone who is very much a home bird. My wings have been exercised now, though. πŸ™‚ Laura x

  2. From everything you and Celia have said about it and all the lovely photos I’ve seen, it sounds a fantastic thing to be able to do.

    Great post.

  3. This was just soooooo much fun, and I finished my next book plus starting a new one. And gained half a stone, but let’s not go there. Lovely blog Laura, great memories.

    Celia xxx

    • Jan, I did think of heaven a few times whilst I was gazing at the mountain tops πŸ™‚ Laura xx

  4. Pingback: Roving Romaniacs: Arte Umbria, Italy | Sue Moorcroft writes

    • Thank you, and you’re very welcome, Sue. It was a great course in a perfect setting. Laura x

  5. Pingback: Back From Italy – And 2 New Writing Comps! | Blog About Writing

Leave a Reply

