Home » Group post » Hot scenes – what’s your sizzling soundtrack?

Hot scenes – what’s your sizzling soundtrack?

Celia: Last week on Facebook, our lovely Sue Fortin sparked off a train of thought that really fired up the imaginations of some of you writers out there who occasionally need to switch on the steam to order. I’m talking on the page – that goes without saying – what you do behind closed doors is your own affair (although obviously if you need to share, we are very discreet here at Romaniac HQ. Not.)

Anyway, Sue was trying to find a bit of suitably hot and heavy background music to put her in the mood to write something scorching, and she asked for a few helpful pointers.

festival 281If you can organise a sultry sunset to look at, I find that helps but if not and you’re relying on the music, there are plenty of great ones to chose from. My favourites are Al Green’s Here I Am and The Pointer Sisters’ Slowhand, but that was just the tip of the iceberg. Once I started to list them, the tunes that inspire seductive steaminess,  deep smut or even just a gentle buzz were endless. How about Blur’s Tender Is The Night with all that thumping bass? Or…no, it’s your turn now. What music gets you in the mood to write something eyebrow raising?

Sue: Well, I’ve always said if sexy made a noise then it would sound like ‘Closer’ by Kings of Leon, it has a very sultry feel to it.  For something a bit more gentle and softer, it has to be ‘Tender’ by Feeder.

Feeder Hyde Park 2012

Feeder, Hyde Park, 2012

Jan: I must admit, I’m quite partial to a bit of Marvin Gaye, so if choosing one sizzleworthy song of his to help the old ink flow, it would unquestionably be ‘Let’s Get It On’. Another top tune that always steams my literary windows is  ‘Need You Tonight’ by INXS.

Lucie: Well, there are many different ways to answer this kind of question.  I think it depends on the kind of sex scene you are writing.  Songs like ‘Freak Me’ by Another Level are great for those dirty sex scenes,. ‘I’ll make love to you’ by Boys II Men is great for a loving sex scene and ‘Sexual Healing’ by Marvin Gaye is very sensual. So, maybe it might be a case of listening to a couple of different songs and writing the scene over to see how your sex scene works best. What you thought was a sensual scene may actually read better as a more heated sexual encounter… who knows…

Debbie: Anything by the pint-sized but very sexy Prince (as in the singer rather than Charles or William) and also I’m quite partial to a bit of Joni Mitchell to get me in the…er…mood.

Laura: At the time of Sue’s original thread, as The Romaniacs know, I was writing a very difficult, but crucial love scene. I opted for Pas de deux, from the Nutcracker. It has everything that needed to be expressed within the scene. For me, this exudes Passion. With a capital P. Other songs that can set the writing mood: All About Eve’s Freeze – it has a driving beat but an ethereal vocal, and the lyrics are pretty cool. Or hot, depending on your take. Madonna’s Justify Your Love has got a certain something. It’s overt. Go on – have a listen and you’ll hear what I mean.

So what’s your choice? What gets the sparks flying from your pen or keyboard and peps up your prose? Over to you…

17 thoughts on “Hot scenes – what’s your sizzling soundtrack?

  1. Pingback: Hot scenes – what’s your sizzling soundtrack? | Juliet Greenwood

  2. I had this very dilemma the other week. I created a playlist channel on YouTube and listened to it before beginning…the writing, that is. I really liked Maria McKee’s Show Me Heaven. It has a lot of passion and romance in it. I also listened to a couple of songs from Dirty Dancing – She’s Like the Wind and Hungry Eyes, Foreigner’s I Wanna Know What Love Is and a couple of lovely Elvis Presley ballads. I think it really does depend what kind of love scene you’re writing. Even the Spice Girls Two Become One has its place, although I’m afraid The Vicar of Dibley wedding has kind of ruined the romance of that one a little!

    • I love Two Becomes One by The Spice Girls – that song is gorgeous!
      Show Me Heaven is a great choice that line – ‘we’re flyin’ above it all/ Hold my hand, don’t let me fall/ You’ve such amazing grace’ – is lovely..

      • And these are great too! I’m going to have a whole new playlist to go at soon – thanks for posting,

        Celia x

    • Oh yes, especially with you on the choices from Dirty Dancing, Sharon! Great idea to make a playlist beforehand too – will try that. Thanks for dropping in,

      Celia x

    • Sorry, Sharon, my reply to your post escaped down the page! it’s there somewhere, honest!

      Celia x

  3. Ooohh fabulous post! Love your selections! My ‘sizzling songs’ would be FM’s “Feels So Good (When We Make Love)”. And also Tina Turner, “Private Dancer”! There’s just something in her voice and those seductive sighs….

    • That Tina Turner – she’s still got it! I read that as ‘seductive thighs’ first time, was a tad worried…

      Celia x

  4. I’m absolutely hopeless when it comes to writing to music. I’ve tried because I know so many other writers do but my poor brain can’t cope with it, I need total and utter silence even for the steamy scenes! Fascinating to hear other people’s choices though.

    • My bloke loves a singer from days gone by called Greta Keller – she’s got a very poignant voice, great for writing heart-tugging scenes and quite smoochy too in her own way! You might like her in the background, Cara?

      Celia x

  5. For sheer sleaze and dirrrty – Tits on the Radio by the Scissor Sisters, Soul Auctioneer by Death In Vegas and Strangers by Portishead is sexy like stripper music. Love it! For emotional love scenes and passion tinged with ache and sadness ‘She Gets Out the Scrapbook’ by Furniture or I Want You by Elvis Costello. The latter inspired a whole movie all by itself with Rachel Weisz some years ago. That song by Furniture, the lyrics are amazing, I don’t say that lightly, it plays like a movie in your head. It got played on Annie Nightingale’s post Top 40 request show in the ’80s, I got into tons of great music listening to that as a teenager 🙂 I tracked down their album on vinyl just to own that song properly. Here it is:

  6. Cara – I need silence when I’m writing, too. I played Pas de Deux on a loop for a while before writing – I stared at the monitor for some time… 🙂

  7. Cara, I tried to write with the music playing but absolutely couldn’t concentrate. I played my list before hand to get me, er, in the mood so to speak and then wrote in silence. 🙂

  8. I can’t write with music on either. Especially if there’s lyrics. I tend to end up typing out the lyrics without thinking – which leads to some VERY weird dialogue.
    If I had to choose a sound track for a sex scene, I’d go for Pulp’s Different Class – Pencil skirt. Or Underwear. Actually, Underwear is usually how my heroines would feel “how the hell did you get here? Semi-naked in someone else’s room”.

Leave a Reply

