Home » Laura's Posts » School Days, School Ways?

School Days, School Ways?

IMG_4485Sometimes Romaniac HQ is like school. We’ve had ink-sodden paper bombs pinged from an end of a ruler, clingfilm stretched over the toilet bowl and drawing pins lurking in unsuspecting places.

I’m still trying to locate the one I sat on.

Then there’s lunchtime, when we all try and sneak a peak in each other’s cool bag wondering if their chocolate biscuit is better than the melted offering consuming the bottom of our own bag. And Celia always has THE best cake, and there’s always enough to go around.

We have a seating plan. No. We do. Just like in class, some of us have to be separated to prevent high jinks. I’m not going to name names, but I sit at the front.

With our heads down, we work well, inspired by one another’s efforts and ethics. The sense of unity and the knowledge we are working towards a common goal spur us on.IMG_4487

Unlike the days when I was at school and silence was king, if a Romaniac gets stuck, all of those in class will help. There is nothing like a healthy, often hilarious discussion to open up those neural pathways.

The reason I mention all this is because I was thinking about how my method of working is the same now as it was in school. I enjoyed lessons, except maths, I enjoyed sports, despite being one of those picked last for a team, and I loved the rapport with friends and teachers. I was a conscientious worker, who sometimes took a while to grasp a concept, but once it was lodged in my head, I was away.

I got things wrong, but I was keen to understand why, and worked to rectify it.

And my homework was never handed in late.

Recently, with Truth or Dare? preparing for publication, I completed my first ever round of edits. The editor’s report was clear and concise and I understood what I had to do. If what I produced is wrong, that’s down to me, and I will put it right, but I realised I was applying the same principles as I did at school. I worked hard, to the best of my ability, and turfed out those sprouting seeds of doubt – the same ones that poked their heads through the graph paper of my maths book when I was thirteen – I ploughed my way through those – I was less refined.

And I handed those edits in on time.

Packed lunches as they used to be

Packed lunches as they used to be

How early on are our values instilled? Did you enjoy school and have your working methods changed since then?

Laura x

14 thoughts on “School Days, School Ways?

  1. I still haven’t given up trying to get you to move to the back of the classroom with me. And what is this word ‘homework’ that you make mention of?

    Sue
    xx

  2. I think I’d be a half and half kinda gal! (Typical Libran!) I was always very conscientious at school, always wanted to do well and perform to the best of my ability, whilst shackling the secret ‘rebel in the making’ lurking within. Same as I am now, I suppose. Maybe I could do half the week at the front of the class, half the week at the back?? 😉 Great post, Laura. Very thought-provoking 🙂 xx

    • I can’t hear properly from the back. Being at the front of the class has nothing to do with it resembling being on stage. Absolutely nothing. No. Not a thing. 😀 xxx

  3. LOL! Congrats on completing those edits, well done! You remind me a lot of me. I always used to love school, homework was never an issue (except for maths, occasionally) and I liked to apply myself. I guess I tackle writing and editing in the same way. How early does this get instilled? Or are you born with ‘the attitude’? I honestly couldn’t say. It’s just how I function. Sometimes I wish I could loosen up a little, but I can’t ~ not while there’s work to be done. However, at the end of the day, I’m liable to be school girly and rocking out with the best of them. Great post!

    • Thanks, Nicky. I had a deadline for book 2, also, which I managed. I was rarely early for deadlines, not because I’d leave things until the last moment, but because I liked to use all the given time to produce the very best work. Work first, then play. Absolutely 🙂 xx

  4. Ooh I remember the mess from when I visited…don’t recall any biscuits though.. I’m like you, laura..I always gave in homework on time…and I have always handed in edits on time..though having been a teacher, I think I now understand how important it is!!! And I still chew pens when writing…once I actually ate a pencil down to a stub over the course of a term. Explains a lot, does that. A very thought-provoking post, thank you.

    • Thanks, Carol. I’m not one for chewing. Mind you, I had the pencils with the rubber on the end. I didn’t use the rubber because it made it black, and I liked to keep it white 🙂 xx

  5. Well done with the edits :))
    Laura, I was a naughty girl at school. I don’t just mean a bit, I mean DREAD-FUL! Didn’t do homework ( I could – well, I just didn’t) was rude to the teachers; everything was a battle of the wills that I was determined to win.
    All bravado as the minute I hit the 6th form I changed into the most conscientious pupil, polite, tried hard etc…
    Now unfortunately I see history repeating itself with the eldest. Maybe puberty manifests itself badly in my genes :s

    Also, I love those Mississippi mud pies. I’ll sit next to you at break xx

  6. Laura, this is interesting and has made me think! I was always organised and loved doing my homework straight away as I had these ideas or knew exactly what I had to do plus of course, once it was done it was ‘me’ time 🙂

    I think it was both my parents showing me how things could work – does that make sense? well, it does to me … Having said that, neither of my sons are like me in work ethic. So laid back and all that. Hmmm, bit like the OH to be truthful lol

    Thanks for getting this brain thinking.
    Shaz

    • My mum worked three jobs in one day – I wonder if that made an impression on me. My son is a work first kind of guy, whereas my daughter likes to play, then complete her homework. Mind you, she always completes it on time. Thanks, Shaz xx

    • I was one of the lucky ones who enjoyed school. I’m glad things improved for you 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

