Home » Book Launch » Kathryn Freeman: An Arresting Post.

Kathryn Freeman: An Arresting Post.

We love having guests at Romaniac HQ, so we’re thrilled that, with the release of her debut novel, Choc Lit author, Kathryn Freeman, has joined us for a cake or two.

Kate Freeman

Thank you so much for inviting me onto your site to talk about, well, me. It feels very odd. Writing about imaginary characters is a lot less daunting, but here it goes.

I’m Kathryn Freeman and I write modern romance. There, that didn’t sound too ridiculous. In fact I’m now reading the words back with a wide grin on my face. Up until a few years ago, writing was something I did at work, and there was definitely nothing romantic about it. Trained as a pharmacist, I worked for the pharmaceutical industry and for over twenty years I wrote about medicines. However every time I settled down to read a book (I’m a voracious reader. If I don’t have a book on the go, I feel lost) I always peeked at the author’s picture, read their background and wondered. Could I do that, too?

So I enrolled on a writing course and started to write.

I found it relatively easy. The idea for my first book had been germinating for a while and the words flowed from brain to keyboard without much conscious effort. Many months later, pleased with the final product, I proudly parceled up the first three chapters and sent them off to agent, after agent. After agent.

The rejections flooded in. A harsh but necessary reminder that writing isn’t easy. Putting words on paper might be, but actually crafting a story? Developing characters who come alive, who fire the imagination, who make you carry on reading even though there are a thousand other things you should be doing? That’s the really difficult part.

I shelved the book (I wonder if it will ever come out again?) and started another. A different plot, new characters. On the basis that the more I wrote, the better I would get, I then wrote another. And another. Several manuscripts later, I had a book that I felt comfortable enough to send off to the Romantic Novelists’ Association New Writers’ Scheme. The feedback, whilst tactfully delivered, seemed brutal (cut it down by how much?!). Dispirited I shoved it away in a drawer and began to write yet another book.

A few months later I dared to re-read the feedback from the NWS. Then I re-read the book. Finally, I took out my mental scissors and began to cut chunks out. After a lot of painful editing I did as the reviewer had suggested and sent the manuscript off to Choc Lit. They are unusual in that they don’t just read the first three chapters of a new manuscript.  They have a Tasting Panel who actually read the whole book. I will be forever grateful that they liked my story enough to take a chance on an unknown author. Do Opposites Attract, featuring Mitch, a gorgeous but rather gruff hero, will be out in paperback next July.

I wanted my hero in my next book to be very different. Smooth, charming, a bit of a ladies man. That’s how the idea for Too Charming was conceived. Once I had his characteristics, I had to create hers. A woman who would stand up to him and look beyond his shallow exterior to the real man he was beneath.

Too Charming Cover

Enter dashing defence lawyer Scott Armstrong, and no nonsense police detective Megan Taylor. I loved the contrast between the two, not only in their characters but their jobs. Megan’s wary of Scott because she’s been hurt before by a man who was too handsome and too charming. She might find him sexy, but she’s not about to fall for smooth lines again. The fact that he spends his days defending the very people that she works so hard to imprison adds to the tension between them.

Scott isn’t too daunted by the fact that Megan snubs him. He’s a patient and determined man. When he wants something he goes for it, and to his surprise he wants the prickly, feisty, deliciously attractive detective. He reasons that if he keeps chasing her, eventually she’ll start to see him not as a lawyer, but as a man.

Of course life isn’t that simple, as Scott finds out when he’s suddenly caught up in the middle of a case that’s far too close to home. A case that soon has Megan re-evaluating everything she thought she knew about him.

I really enjoyed writing their story and I have to confess that I fell in love with Scott, just as I fell in love with Mitch from Do Opposites Attract. In my head I’m having passionate love affairs with many men at the moment.

In real life, one man is more than enough!

Thank you again for the opportunity to talk about something I love – writing romance.

Too Charming available from Amazon:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00F2UKUTE

Website:  http://kathrynfreeman.co.uk/

Follow me on Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/kathrynfreeman

Follow me on Twitter:  @kathrynfreeman1

14 thoughts on “Kathryn Freeman: An Arresting Post.

  1. Ooh, I love the sound of this novel 🙂 Great to learn more about you, Kathryn. Congratulations and very best of luck with Too Charming! x

  2. Lovely to read how other writers started out. I have gone the self publishing route myself. Perhaps I will one day be brave enough to send a manuscript in to ChocLit . Downloading Too Charming as I write this!!

  3. I’m so glad you kept going or we wouldn’t have had the delicious Scott! Seriously though, it’s understandable to be overwhelmed by rejection – everyone is – but your experience shows that if you’re prepared to use it and apply those lessons,the outcome can be entirely positive! Congratulations.

  4. I’m so touched that you’ve found the time to read and comment ladies – thank you so much for all the good wishes and thanks to The Romaniacs for being kind enough to host me. Romance is definitely more fun than pharmacy!

  5. Funnily enough, Too Charming is on MY Kindle too (I’m a few pages into it at the moment). We’ve all got that first novel that we thought was wonderful at the time, but have now shoved in a drawer.

  6. Well after all that, how easy was it to find the comments? Thank you for pointing me in the right direction, Angela B. Moving quickly on as am feeling a tad stupid….Kathryn, I have Too Charming waiting patiently on my Kindle, and it’s had some great reviews on Amazon, so am really looking forward to reading it.

Leave a Reply

