Home » Sue's Posts » Faking It – Christmas Fir or Not?

Faking It – Christmas Fir or Not?

Every year when I decide it’s time to put up the Christmas tree, I have a moment of excitement at the thought but this is quickly replaced by a sigh, as I acknowledge the Krypton Factor like mental dexterity and The Cube like hand-eye coordination this will require.  And as I begin this labour of love, I can’t help but wonder if I should just get a real tree. Wouldn’t it be so much easier?

Dec tree bits

Annual Christmas Tree challenge

I wouldn’t have to sort out the colour coded branches of my artificial tree, where some colours are not that much different to others, and then match these up with the coloured strips round the ‘trunk’ of my tree. With a real one, isn’t it just a case of buying it, putting it in the right spot – job done?

Dec 1

I am pleased with the result and, as I stand back and admire my children’s handiwork of decorating it, I push back the thought that in a few weeks time it all has to be done in reverse.

What do you prefer? Fake or Fir?

Dec tree

Challenge completed!

Sue

x

6 thoughts on “Faking It – Christmas Fir or Not?

  1. Sue I had to abandon buying real trees when the last one I bought cost £40. On top of that there were big complaints from Bongo Man as I asked him to saw off most of the branches to make it the shape I wanted. Since then it’s been my John Lewis build your own Christmas tree every year. Oh, and a can of instant pine tree scent to cover the traces.

  2. I had the urge this year to purchase a real tree. Choosing the windiest, coldest day we had yet to do so, I pulled on my coat and scarf and did just that. It is absolutely beautiful, all that I wished it could be. The only problem is, I was soon consumed with guilt. Seeing it standing there, in all its twinkly decorated splendour, I realised it was rootless and felt very sad. Now I keep apologising to it. Oh, dear… Back to build my own next year, I think. 😦 xx

  3. I always have a real tree every year. There are a number of reasons for this.
    1. I live really close to Cannock Chase in Staffordshire and it would be a shame not to benefit from the millions of trees that grow there.
    2. I love the smell of a real tree, especially when you come downstairs first thing in the morning.
    3. My Mom would strike me down from Heaven above, if I went artificial! Family tradition is to have a real one.
    4. I’m lazy and can’t be arsed to build one! I’m not very good at instructions either and I’m sure a tree I built would look odd!
    This year was interesting as I changed my car to a mini and never even gave Christmas a thought! Luckily the roof comes off, so I drove back from Cannock Chase at the weekend with my hood down and the tree sticking out! My neighbours found it highly amusing!

    If I have been buying a real tree for the last 25 years, and I live to be 80, that will be 60 years of buying Christmas trees at an average of £40 per year. This works out at £2,400 during my lifetime! Flipping heck! How much is an artificial one again!

    Happy Christmas whether you have a real tree or not. I’ll be the one having to dispose of my real tree and vacuuming needles up for the next three months, while you put your tree back in its box quite easily!

    Kim
    xxx

  4. We get a real tree each year and make a “thing” of going to get it. I find it a lovely start to Christmas.
    Love and best wishes for the festive season, Sue. 🙂 xx

  5. It’s real trees for me, too. I also live near Cannock Chase and love the annual trip to choose a tree and soak up the festive atmosphere.
    A very happy Christmas to you, Sue, and all the lovely Romaniacs.xx

Leave a Reply

