Home » Uncategorized » The Life Cycle of a Writer – Lucie

The Life Cycle of a Writer – Lucie

 

This week it is my turn to give an update of where I am with my writing.

I come under the ‘agented’ category. My lovely agent, Sarah Taylor, has been fantastic and has always been on hand, day or night, to listen to me ramble on about an idea I have had, or a competition I want to enter, or even when I just can’t get the words down. It has made a real difference, to me personally, having an agent. I am not saying that everyone must have an agent, I am just saying that for me personally, it has been a good thing.

This bears a huge resemblance to my ironing pile!

When I was writing just me, myself and I, I found it easy to be distracted by things. That funny post on Facebook, the fact that my phone beeped because someone has mentioned me on Twitter, the washing, the dog snoring… the ironing (but that was only when things were really bad – the ironing very rarely wins my attention.) But that isn’t just it. I found myself doubting my ability a lot, too. Regularly I would re-read things from the previous day and think, ‘I’m rubbish’, or, ‘This is absolute drivel’, and so on.

Whilst I do have the fantastic added benefit of The Romaniac girls to hand, having an agent means she can pull me into line when these doubts creep in. As they do. A lot.

My agent isn’t just there to send my books out and try to find homes for them, she’s also there to listen, to guide, to read, to laugh, to empathise, to be firm and be constructive. She will give me deadlines to work to so that I stay on track and stay focused. She will read that piece of absolute drivel and pull the goodness from it. She will tell me when I’ve really gone off on a tangent and that I really, really don’t need those extra words. She wants me to do well and she knows how to get me there.

As a newbie, I cannot do all of the above by myself. I am sure there are some of you reading this who are shouting at the computer saying, ‘yes, you can!’ and I am sure that if I had to, I could. But I feel like I am learning so much more about myself doing it this way.

So, an update on where I am.

My first full length novel, Head over Heart, went out on submission last year. Whilst I got back quite a few very positive responses, I am yet to be offered a contract. Rejections are hard, and they don’t get any easier. People I have spoken to who have been writing for years – some of who have previously had publishing contracts – also say that rejections do not get easier the older you get/the more you get. Unfortunately it is one of those things that we writers have to get used to and learn to take the positives. Yes, they may be saying no, but what about that paragraph where they also said that they loved the story but it just wasn’t different enough from the other books already in their line? Yes, that was one of my rejections. A no, but a positive no. They liked it. And it is hard to get publishers to like your book. So I take pride in that rejection.

As you can see, I go off on a tangent quite easily when I am writing. Hence why I like having Sarah reining me in.

After finishing my second novel, working title Love Hurts, it has been sent to Sarah. And as I type, she is due to call me this afternoon to discuss her thoughts. When we feel this is ready, it will be going out on submission, too.

There are a couple of publishers who still have Head over Heart on their desk to read, however, as I am sure many of you know, you cannot just sit and wait. They may be rejections, too. So Love Hurts will go out on submission whilst we wait.

After finishing this latest book, I had a week off where I tidied the house, actually had a conversation with my husband where I didn’t have one eye on the screen/notebook, and yes, I actually did that ironing pile.

What now? Well, now I will begin drafting the next one. I have the idea, I have a few characters and I have enthusiasm. Let’s begin the next adventure…donotdisturb

 

Lucie

x

 

4 thoughts on “The Life Cycle of a Writer – Lucie

  1. As I’m about to finish and publish my third rom com this spring, I am standing at the crossroads. What next, I ask myself? Carry on as an indie author or start to look round for an agent. Hmm. Touch one. I was at the Festival of Romance the year that you found your agent, Lucie and I’ve loved finding out what you’ve been up to since. Thanks for the update. As for the ironing – leave it alone; no one won a pulitzer prize for ironing as far as I’m aware. Good luck with all your submissions.

    • Thank you, Lizzie. That was a great year for me and I had such a fab day at the Festival of Romance that year – feels like only yesterday. Last year was a bit of an up and down year so I did take a step back, but already, I feel this year is going to be very productive. Fingers crossed. I am so pleased you have enjoyed reading my update, thank you for your support. Best of luck with your novels, too. You have had a great journey so far, I hope it continues 🙂

      And the ironing? You have a very good point. You don’t have to tell me twice!

      Lucie xx

Leave a Reply

