Home » Uncategorized » Life Cycle of a Writer – Real life

Life Cycle of a Writer – Real life

The time has come again for the next update from me. Unfortunately, this update won’t be as exciting as my others as I have taken a real slow down with my writing because of various reasons.

Any writer will tell you that sometimes, life just gets in the way and prevents you from spending the time that you wish you could on writing and everything book-related. That’s just life. It happens. And for me, this is how it has been recently. I have been doing more hours at my day job and my health took a little bit of a nosedive, too. However, I am hoping to be on the improve now, so fingers crossed.

Whilst I don’t have exciting book deal style news, I do have some other news. In September, I shall be going to university. It has been something that I have wanted to do for years, but, as I’ve said, life has a habit of getting in the way. However, this year I took the reins and DID IT! I applied and was accepted. I will be studying for my Early Childhood Degree and I cannot wait. Some of you may remember from my last update that I mentioned I was drafting a children’s series. Well, it is still very much in the early draft stage, however, I feel doing my degree can only deepen my understanding and help me to carve a better series. I love my day job as a nursery assistant and I am constantly striving to develop more, professionally as well as personally. I find children absolutely fascinating and I am really excited to be looking deeper into how they learn, grow and live. Whilst I love writing on the whole, my passion for writing for children is certainly getting stronger.

So, how will I find time to write come September when I am working, attending University, doing coursework, taking exams, looking after the house/child/husband/dogs? (Yes, I have three!)… my answer, I really don’t know. But, people do it. I am not the first and I most certainly will not be the last person to fit in the Impossible.

But I will do it. Because writing is what I love to do. Yes, it may take me a little longer to reach my ambition, but as long as I reach it, isn’t that what matters?

I know my post hasn’t been full of writing-related news, but this is exactly what this blog series is about. We are showing you a snippet into the lives of people who love to write and how they take their journey. Sometimes, we will have months where things seem to be snowballing and we are being shortlisted for things, and being offered contracts and meeting our heroes, and sometimes, we will have months of gruelling hospital visits, day jobs that take over and one family birthday party after another.

But that’s ok, because we are people too. We can have quieter months, so long as we go back to our passion as and when we can, that’s where a true writer is born.

All that is left for me to say is a huge thank you to everyone who has continued to support and encourage me over these difficult couple of months and I really hope to see lots of you at the RNA conference next month! I shall be attending from the Friday-Sunday – I can’t wait!

Much love to you all. Happy writing!

Lucie x

4 thoughts on “Life Cycle of a Writer – Real life

  1. Congratulations, Lucie! Not every dream a writer has is writing related. It’s good that you’re able to develop your interests in childhood development. I wish you the best of luck at university. xx

  2. Yay! You go for it, Lucie. I did my MA in between working, writing, life, family, dogs… You what, uni invigorated me and I did actually manage, somehow, to write. Follow your dream, sweetie. 🙂 xx

  3. Hi Lucie, sorry to hear about your health taking a nosedive, and hope you improve soon. Congrats on the university course, and best of luck with your writing. I know what you mean re maintaining the writing, and managing a family etc. Sometimes it’s just impossible to fit it all in, but you’ll get there in the end, I know you will :-). Your determination always shines through in your posts! x

Leave a Reply

