Home » Catherine's Posts » Life Cycle Of A Writer: Becoming an overnight success!

Life Cycle Of A Writer: Becoming an overnight success!

Something struck me when listening to all of the recent Romaniac interviews. It was this: nearly every successful writer has done a lot of leg work to get where they are.

This was true in lots of the interviews, but I thought I’d highlight two in particular: Natalie Meg Evans and Brigid Coady.

Both of whom mention their long road to publication that almost had them give up, and yet with their persistence, they have both gone on to be award-winning authors.

It’s this persistence and determination to never give up that seems to be true of all authors.

You may have seen in this recent post, my own persistence and determination has paid off and I have signed a two book deal with Carina. I managed to write the majority of my book since having twins so while I don’t consider myself an overnight success, I do think it’s worth mentioning what I learned along the way.

1) Listen: There are so many writers willing to impart their knowledge.

2) Learn: Critique of your work might be hard to hear, but it will help you in the long run.

3) Support: Find writing friends who will support you in a healthy way.

4) Be persistent: I might be overusing this word in this blog, but it might be because I’m being persistent. 

5) Read: Read about writing. Read in your genre. Read because you love to.

6) Make writing a priority: I’ve been guilty of not always doing this. It’s only since having twins and my time has been very restricted that I’ve become more focused. Unless it is urgent, everything else can wait. Apart from the twins, I have been looking after them in between!

7) Reach out: Find writing groups to join. Find associations to join. Go to conferences. Go to parties. The people you meet might give you the single piece of advice you needed or end up being your editor one day.

8) Repeat: Do it again and again and again.

9) The End is never The End: Every writer I know continues to learn and I know really, my journey is just at the beginning. 

What else have you learned along the way that could be added to the list?

Catherine x

4 thoughts on “Life Cycle Of A Writer: Becoming an overnight success!

  1. Believe in yourself. If you have a wobble, go to point 7. Those writers have been there. Most are always ready to offer a shoulder, wine, cake or chocolate and loads of encouragement. Well done, Catherine (in case I haven’t said it before). 🙂 xx

  2. Great advice, Catherine :). I think I’d add ‘treat it like a job, as much as you can’, in the sense that you make time to develop your skills, act professionally (especially at the subbing stage), do necessary training focus on the end product. Yuck, that sounds so boring, and writing was, for me, the thing I did to stop myself going nuts on maternity leave with number 2, so it was a guilty pleasure (and a pleasurable pleasure) as well, but the learning process is both academic and like having another career at times (which I sincerely hope it will be, one day!). x

  3. That’s a great post, Catherine. Your point six touches on what I’ve found most useful: a dedicated time for writing every single day and a dedicated writing space, too. Somewhere to spread out your research while you plan, type and/or scribble. I’ve got a few besides my office, for tax purposes 😀 my bedside table, the top of a huge chest freezer and a sheltered corner of the garden for when the weather’s nice.

Leave a Reply

