Home » Uncategorized » Life Cycle of a Writer – Lucie

Life Cycle of a Writer – Lucie

Hi!

Well, I’m afraid to say that I haven’t come to you this time around with any exciting news relating to my writing. I really wanted to be able to say exciting things, or even just a development, but the truth of the matter is, I am just not getting any time to work on my novel at the moment.

To say I am upset is an understatement. I always told myself that when I started university, I would still make time for my writing. I would get up early, stay up late, work at weekends… but the truth is, I spend all of those extra hours doing my studying. It is fair to say that I didn’t realise just how much of my time would be taken up with study and work for my degree.

I spent days, weeks even, stressing about it, worrying that all those people who have supported me and followed me through the last few years, would see me as a failure and forget about me.

But then I sat down and gave myself a stern talking to. Yes, I haven’t written properly in months, and yes, I find it hard to read books at the moment that aren’t textbooks, let alone write one. But I also realised that I needed to start looking at what I AM doing, rather than what I’m not.

I AM… studying for my degree. I never, in a million years, thought I would be smart enough to study for a degree. University was something that other people did, not me. I have a family, and a job, I would never get time to obtain a degree. But yet, here I am, doing just that.

I AM … building up an online profile with my vlogging and my website. Not only highlighting my writing, but also my passion for children, parenting and childcare.

I AM… working hard at my day job in a nursery, doing not only my practical duties, but I also undertake additional duties such as devising activities and designing and building up a resource area for all members of staff and children to benefit from.

I AM…making notes for my children’s books. Whilst I don’t have time to write full novels, I do have time to loosely plan and jot down book ideas for my children’s writing. I love writing, I love working with children – so it seems silly not to merge the two and combine my passions.

I AM… being a mum and a wife. I work so hard to be the best mum and wife I can be, and to make my family’s lives as fun, exciting and enjoyable as I can.

So, you see, I may not have a book deal to shout about (just yet!) but I do have things to be grateful for and I AM working very hard. All these different things may seem random, but they all link together in my bigger picture.

I WILL write for children.

I WILL write for adults.

I WILL complete my degree and go onto further training.

I WILL always love my family.

And I wholeheartedly believe that you should try this at home.

Stop thinking about what you aren’t doing, and start celebrating what you ARE. You are amazing, believe in yourself and you will get there.

Lots of Love

Lucie x

8 thoughts on “Life Cycle of a Writer – Lucie

  1. Great post, Lucie! I think you’re amazing. Doing a degree is hard enough, but combining it with a job and family is more than most people would even attempt.
    You’re laying solid foundations for a great future. Bet your children’s books will be amazing because you’ll understand what excites and appeals to those inquisitive minds.
    Good luck and keep doing what you’re doing. Xx

    • Aw, thank you, Sharon! What a lovely message. It’s fair to say I didn’t realise just how much hard work and time goes into a degree. I thought I’d still be able to juggle everything but I just don’t have enough hours in the day! 🙂
      I’ll get there.

      Thanks again. Very kind of you.

      Lucie x

    • Thanks John! That is exactly what I need to try and remember – have some fun!
      Thanks for commenting x

  2. Don;t beat yourself up, Lucie. Everything will slot into place when the time is right. You’ve given yourself the right advice – follow it. 💌

    • You’re right, Lizzie. It’s just so hard not to be disappointed as I SO want to get my books Out There.
      But, there’s a time and place for everything and right now I need to study.
      I’ll get there… Eventually!
      Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Lucie xx

Leave a Reply

