Home » Catherine's Posts » LCOAW – Getting Marketing Right

LCOAW – Getting Marketing Right

The title of this post is a bit misleading. In order to talk about getting marketing right, I’d have to have some concept of whether I was achieving that myself. And to be fair, I haven’t got a Scooby Doo.

My degree in Physiotherapy and the months of catching five minutes to write while looking after my twin girls haven’t exactly primed me for the Buy My Book phase of being an author. But here I am with just over two weeks to go before my debut novel is out and ARRGGHHH I’m so unprepared for this! I’m not in a position to spend hours at a laptop sending out suggestive hints as to why Waiting for You should be THE BOOK you buy today. So I’ve tried to promote the book in some other ways in an attempt to be a bit different, but also to allow the marketing to fit in with family life.

WFT new

Firstly, I did a promo day as a Facebook event. I called it Don’t Wait for… Waiting for You and it was with the aim of getting all those who were considering purchasing the book to do it on a single day. As there were prizes, it also attracted some others to pre-order. Overall it worked well to spread the word about the book and allowed me to concentrate my efforts on a single day and it was something slightly different to the Publication Day parties that are often popular.

As this is my first book and I have worked so bloody hard over several years to get to this stage, I wanted to make sure I did something special to send it on its way. Having harnessed my inner Milly Johnson (Milly does the best book launch parties) and read Jane Wenham-Jones’ Wannabe a Writer We’ve Heard Of, I now have the perfect (rather unique) spot for my book launch – The Oasis Down to Earth Farm, a local community farm.

Book Launch

It was an interesting challenge trying to think of the perfect place to launch a book that is digital first so not necessarily suitable for a more traditional book shop venue. In the end I think I’ve ended up with something that will be unique and exciting and it’s great to think the day will be raising funds for the farm. If you are local to Southampton and free that day it would be great to see you there.

As well as both these things I’ll be doing my share of tweeting, FBing and a blog tour supported by Carina. Because all in all I’m not sure what works. Not when my degree taught me the origin and insertion of every muscle in the human body and not the persuasive charms of selling books. I figure I’ll do it in a way that I enjoy and hope that in turn people will enjoy Waiting for You.

To finish, on a totally unrelated note, please BUY MY BOOK 😉

Til next time,

Catherine x

4 thoughts on “LCOAW – Getting Marketing Right

  1. I’m certainly no expert, but it sounds like you’ve been doing all the right things. I also think a good cover helps and you’ve certainly got that. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

