Home » Sue's Posts » Tuesday Chit-Chat with Amy Gregory

Tuesday Chit-Chat with Amy Gregory

She’s sassy, snarky, fun and loving – she also writes great romance novels.

Please welcome Amy Gregory, author of Racing To Love, published by Sapphire Star!

Hi Amy great to have you here all the way from Kansas. Not sure what the time difference is but hope we’ve not got you up too early.  Although I get the feeling, with a young family, you’re probably used to some early starts.

Thank you so much for having me!  I’m not sure on time zone differences, I’m in CST if that helps.  I’m an early bird anyway, I get my best writing done in the morning.  After about 9pm I’m a lost cause.

[Off to check it out – okay, you’re five hours behind us – still the middle of the night for you then – sorry!]

Racing to Love your debut novel is out now, can you tell us a bit about it?

It is a series of four books, the setting is the world of motocross racing.  The main male characters are life-long best friends.  The first book is Carter Sterling’s story of how unpredictable life is and how love can find you when you least expect it.  It’s his tale of instant attraction to Molly and the lengths a man will go to in order to protect the woman he loves.

What type of motorbike would you say reflects your personality and why?

We are a motocross family.  Love it!  Love watching the professional races in person and on TV.  Plus, our son is a motocross racer, so I’d say dirt bikes.  Street bikes scare me.  I guess it’s that I trust him completely, but on the open road you’re at the mercy of all the other crazy drivers out there.

Having been brought up around road bikes, I know what you mean about other crazy road users.

Keeping on the road and travelling theme, can you tell us about the journey this book has gone through to get published?

Oh, my poor baby lol.  In a brief form I’ll explain.  I hadn’t written a word since back in school.  Then out of the blue I had a dream, the next night it expanded and so on.  Finally after a few days I started writing it down.  The next thing I knew I had over four hundred hand-written pages.  I typed it, edited, added, edited and edited again.  I had this passion all of the sudden that I didn’t have a clue where it came from.  I loved the story and wanted to share it.  I started querying agents and publishers with no luck.  Finally I decided to do a major rewrite, change the tense and stuff like that.  That’s when I was able to get in the door.  It did go through an intense rewrite in a very short amount of time with the help of my editor.  Then the rest was a blur!

So how did it feel to get the call/e-mail that Sapphire Star wanted to publish Racing To Love?

I guess the only way I could describe it is, surreal.  You picture it happening, you dream about it, but when it happened for me, I was just dumbstruck.

I read on your blog that you are writing two books at once! How did that come about and are you finding it easy to switch back and forth?

I am lol.  I am writing book four which is the last in the Racing to Love series as well as the first book in my next series.  They are very different characters and their worlds are unique to each of them.  I am finding it easier almost.  I have flashes of dialogue or scenes come to me for both.  I can get to a spot with one, stop and add to the other.  It makes those moments when you feel a little stumped almost non-existent.  I actually have a stand-alone thrown in the mix as well.  So between the three, I’m, so far, avoiding writer’s block—knock on wood!  As I’m working on one, ideas pop up for the others and it just flows so excitingly.

How would you describe your style of writing?  What sort of reader would it appeal to?

I would have to say I’m unique.  I do not like suspense at all.  I just get all anxious and my heart races, not a happy thing.  I only read and write romance.  I have to have a happy end, and on top of all that I am a complete smart mouth.  I love snarky dialogue.  To me, that makes it feel real.  I love writing in a series format because I can carry my characters throughout the books.  So if the reader loves romance, including the heat, sassy characters, humor, leading women that are not docile and instant attraction, that’s me.  My men, while they might not always be perfect, they’re close and they try hard.  They don’t give up, and they fight for the woman who stole their heart.  I like to write stories that could actually happen in everyday life, sweet easy reads that let the reader escape reality for a little bit and leave them feeling warm and fuzzy after they’ve read the last page.

What’s the strangest bit of research you’ve had to do and what sort of response did you receive?

Luckily I don’t do anything that needs an extensive amount of research.  Mainly city names and location details, that sort of thing.  I do like to use fictitious cities for the most part so I have to make sure once I’ve picked a state that it doesn’t exist.  I have to say there are some strange city names out there!

Do you feel you have tamper your natural voice or do you just write it as it comes?

Yes and no.  I speak with a normal amount of slang and a bit of a southern accent on some words.  Those things are hard to convert to a story without sounding goofy.  However, the attitude and sass is all me.  I won’t change that.  It makes my stories mine.  I love humor and I’m a self-admitted smart mouth.  Used in the right context, it can take a scene to a whole new level.  I’m a panster through and through, I just type as it comes to me.  My characters come to life for me, I’m just typing their stories.

Do your write for the American or UK market?

I will probably only write scenes based on American locations, just because I don’t want it to feel fake or made up.  However, motocross is huge in Europe.  The bike our son rides is actually an Austrian make.  I hope to gain loyal readers in both parts of the world.

When can we expect to see book 2 released?

Racing to Love – Jesse’s Soul will be released January 3, 2013 with Eli’s Honor to follow shortly after.

Excellent, not too far off then, you’ll have to come back and tell us about it in the new year 🙂

It’s been great chatting to you, Amy. Good luck with writing two books at once!

It’s been great to be here, thank you for introducing me to your followers!

Want to find out  more about Racing To Love and Amy Gregory?

Here’s the blurb and an excerpt, followed by the links for Amy.

About Racing To Love

From the outside, Molly West had everything, beauty, brains, and a career she’d retired from not once, but twice.  Being in the limelight and in a sport that was male driven, she was often surrounded by men.  She ignored first the boys, and as she got older, the men.  Her cold shoulder and patented not a chance in hell look were usually enough to get her point across.  Molly had no plans in changing what was a perfectly good system. That is until she walked into the pits. 

Carter Sterling had traveled the racing circuit since he was a boy.  He’d heard all the old standbys, She’s out there somewhere, love comes along when you least expect it.  Good things come to those that… Yeah, he’d heard them all.  The last place he expected to meet the love of his life was on a pro track.  All she did was smile, and he knew, looking into her sapphire blue eyes, Molly West was his.  Forever. 

If it was only that easy.  From the moment he laid eyes on her, he had a gripping feeling in him.  An overwhelming need to protect her—a girl he’d just met.  Carter had learned a long time ago that gut feelings are almost never wrong.  Molly now held his heart in her hands, but it was going to take a lot more than just love to protect her from the past she thought she’d buried a long time ago.

Now for a little taster of Racing To Love

They continued to walk back toward the pits, but he stopped when they were in the darkened hallway, just before they would have rounded the corner and been seen.

Molly’s heart sped.

He was still holding her hand, but turned to face her as he placed his other hand on her waist. She sucked in a breath when he stepped forward. Her first instinct was to be anxious, to cower back, but something in those ice blue eyes told her she didn’t have to be afraid.

When he had leaned in to kiss her when they were sitting on the track, she’d panicked. And then when he had started to move away, she’d panicked again—for a different reason entirely.

Those flip-flopping emotions were about to drive her crazy.

Now, in the dimmed corridor, Molly closed her eyes to catch her breath and to search for a decision. He’d been rubbing his thumb on her waist, but his movements stopped when her eyes dropped closed. The soothing strokes didn’t continue until she finally reopened her eyes and dragged her attention up his chest and past his Adam’s apple. She continued up until she locked her gaze with his. When she offered him a hesitant smile, he began stroking her again with a warm smile on his lips.

Staring down at her, he let go of her hand and skimmed the back of his over her cheek. She felt her heart thundering, her pulse racing when she ran her hands up his chest, feeling each and every rippled muscle. She’d never purposely touched a man like this before. Sure, she’d felt Brody’s muscles when she’d smacked him for one reason or another. Or when trying to push him off of her after he’d wrestled her to the ground being an ornery brother and all. But this? This was foreign.

Her eyes were back on her own fingers, taking everything in. She stopped at his heart and could feel it pounding hard beneath the soft cotton t-shirt.

“Just so you know…” he started in his slow, sexy voice.

She could tell he was waiting for eye contact again before continuing. “Yeah?” she whispered.

“I’m going to fall in love with you.”

Links

Website: http://amygregory548.blogspot.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/amygregoryauthor548?ref=hl

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AmyGregory548

Amazon.co.uk here

Amazon.com  here

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/racing-to-love-carters-treasure-amy-gregory/1111073650?ean=9781938404085

GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4809074.Amy_Gregory

6 thoughts on “Tuesday Chit-Chat with Amy Gregory

  1. Hi Amy,
    I love the sound of your novel. Writing three books at once. I take my hat off to you!
    Plus what a way to get a story via a dream.
    Have you had anymore dreams regarding your novels?
    Would appreciate a dream or two for my own writing!
    Lorraine x

  2. Hi Lorraine!
    Thanks so much for stopping by 😀 Three books at once is just a glimpse into crazy my mind is lol! As far as dreams go, no I haven’t had anymore regarding this story line or a new one, but I pay attention now. I have had vivid dreams like that in the past I just didn’t think anything of it, now I’m so sad I didn’t at least make a note of them. Oh well, I’ve got enough to keep me busy for a good long while lol. I appreciate your support and hope you enjoy the series.
    Hugs,
    A

  3. To The Romaniacs xxoo
    Thank you so much for having me on your blog today, it has been a pleasure and I’m so excited to meet your sweet followers! Have a great Tuesday. Big hugs to you all!
    xxoo
    A

  4. Fab post. I don’t know how you do it, three novels at once and a young family and an ACE publishing sister. You rock! I have Racing to Love on my Kindle and can’t wait to get stuck in. Thanks to the lovely Romaniacs for hosting you here today, I really enjoyed the interview. XX

  5. Me too! I didn’t like to admit I write two books at once, sure people would wonder if I could give either my full attention. Like you, Amy, I find it helps if i get a little bit stuck on one. Instead of fretting, my mind becoming an inevitable complete void, I think working on the other book helps kickstart the ideas, if you get my drift. Great interview. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

